Need input...

motoyak

Need input...

Post by motoyak »

After 2 shoulder surgerys, Im considering going pedal power and could use some 1st hand knowledge. I know the weight of the pedal boats are an issue but what type/brand of drive system works best in bays and rivers? Is the seating position comfortable to long term pedalling or do the elevated leg position wear you out?
Im considering the Pelican Hydryve 2 or the Hobie Compass due to the hull weight and the flipper drives. Im a minimalist when it comes to storage and electronics are not needed. Capacity has to be #350 or greater
txanalogkd

Re: Need input...

Post by txanalogkd »

Unfortatly, I have no experience with a peddle kayak. If I were to get one, I would look hard at the Old Town Kayaks. I have heard great things to include the price of these kayaks.
Kayak Kid
TKF 10,000 Club
TKF 10,000 Club

Post by Kayak Kid »

As a long time paddle enthusiast, I purchased, out of curiosity, one of the first wilderness systems peddle drive kayaks. Although the boat was a work in progress, I had no problems with its operation or construction.

I was more than pleased with the peddle system itself. The energy required was, overall, much less than that which is required to paddle. I was able to move faster, for greater lengths of time with the peddle drive, and traveling to windward was a breeze (*) compared to paddle power.

Having raced Hobie sail boats...,14,16, and 18 ft...,I am a big fan of their products and their customer service. Yet, I have a problem with the comparative delicacy of their drive system, and the operation of their reverse mode. The weight and design of the Hobie kayaks does not lend itself to easy paddling. They are, however, faster and more powerful than peddle drives and can operate in shallower water (kinda).

The downside to peddle kayaks is the additional water depth required as opposed to that required by paddle power.