Fishing Anahuac

Stephenmtn

Fishing Anahuac

Post by Stephenmtn »

I'm new to kayak fishing just bought one Thursday. I live around anahuac where's a good place to go around here.
4x4kayak2112
TKF 1000 Club
TKF 1000 Club

Re: Fishing Anahuac

Post by 4x4kayak2112 »

Stephenmtn wrote:I'm new to kayak fishing just bought one Thursday. I live around anahuac where's a good place to go around here.
Fort Anahuac is a good place to start. You can spend an entire lifetime learning the waters within paddling distance from the boat launch. Good fishing around that area.

I live just north of the county line, so im around that area alot.
txbrett

Post by txbrett »

4x4kayak2112 wrote:
Stephenmtn wrote:I'm new to kayak fishing just bought one Thursday. I live around anahuac where's a good place to go around here.
Fort Anahuac is a good place to start. You can spend an entire lifetime learning the waters within paddling distance from the boat launch. Good fishing around that area.

I live just north of the county line, so im around that area alot.
I agree with 4X4kayak2112 about Fort Anahuac. I think, although I haven't been there in a while, that it's probably still freshwater. When conditions are right, it's a GREAT place to fish!
There's also Anahuac National Wildlife Refuge. It gets pretty muddy when a south wind is blowing, but is a really good fall fishing shoreline. Depending on your paddling preference, you could launch your kayak on Frozen Point, and paddle south to the Rollover Bay and Goat Island area. I think it's only a mile or so across there, and I used to do it in a 12' kayak.
Smith Point was my go-to spot last year, just because it has shorlelines/islands that can provide protection from the south wind, and maintain decent water clarity. But like Fort Anahuac, it may be all freshwater these days also from the Trinity River flow.
Good luck wherever you go!

Brett
ThePopinCorkKid

Post by ThePopinCorkKid »

the water is still to fresh there.
Stephenmtn