Saltwater Infection, Sad Ending

DB
Location: Planning, engaged in, or recovering from a fishing trip"

Saltwater Infection, Sad Ending

Post by DB »

http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/met ... 79618.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

With the elevated water temps, Vibrio levels go way up...so aside from leaving the raw oysters alone, you also have to be mindful of breaks in the skin.

As a surgeon, I have cared for individuals with these infections and once they set in, even aggressive surgery does little to alter the outcome.

I would recommend that any superficial wound be cleaned on the spot with chlorhexidine, and serious consideration be given to seeing a doc for a deep puncture. Anybody with an underlying medical (esp liver or kidney) problem who gets a saltwater-contamined injury is taking a risk if they don't get medical attention. Maybe a dose of the proper antibiotic right after the injury could have changed the outcome in this unfortunate case.

I cover existing skin breaks with Tegaderm or Opsite when I'm on the salt or in the O.R. as nasty bugs abound in both places !
TexasGringo
TKF 3000 Club
TKF 3000 Club

Re: Saltwater Infection, Sad Ending

Post by TexasGringo »

Wow. Very scary stuff. I've gotten to where I won't go wade if I have an open cut of any kind.
Arlon

Post by Arlon »

Pretty sad. Close to 20 vibrio related deaths a year along the coast. Vibrio kills a lot more people than most realize. Cuts/abrasions in salt water need to be taken real seriously.
Chief Brody
TKF 2000 club
TKF 2000 club

Post by Chief Brody »

DB wrote:http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/met ... 79618.html

With the elevated water temps, Vibrio levels go way up...so aside from leaving the raw oysters alone, you also have to be mindful of breaks in the skin.

As a surgeon, I have cared for individuals with these infections and once they set in, even aggressive surgery does little to alter the outcome.