4/20 Fishing Christmas bay

jgg696

4/20 Fishing Christmas bay

Post by jgg696 »

Paddled out to Rattlesnake pt. in christmas bay and caught a few small reds early on with vudu shrimp, but then just small croaker on dead shrimp. Anybody have advice on how to fish reefs? It was windy as heck, and a little chilly high 60's. Fished the mud area as well with no luck.
Yak-n TX

Re: 4/20 Fishing Christmas bay

Post by Yak-n TX »

The fishing has been kind of tough lately because of the high winds surrounding these fronts so it might not have been anything you were doing. Trying to find clean water in these conditions isn't easy.

I'm not an expert but the way I fish reefs is with a bait suspended under a cork or a lightweight jig head to minimize the hangups. Sometimes I like to use a weighted hook Texas rigged to be even more snagless. Using a fluorocarbon leader will help you maintain abrasion resistance around the shell.

I like to focus on the areas that are small channels and dips in the reef that create an ambush point for the predatory fish. Also areas where the reef is adjacent to deeper water or where the reef creates a point are good areas to target. I'll work the bait over top of these areas by casting over them and working the bait back towards me. Sometimes you can run the bait down a channel and have success. Other times the fish are up on the reef if the tide is high enough so you just have to pattern the fish. I like to start by focus on my high success rate areas and systematically work through the areas and different baits/techniques until I can pattern the fish.

Hopefully some of that makes sense.
kickingback
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club

Post by kickingback »

Great tips Yak-n-TX.