Seawolf Park on Thanksgiving Eve

Aggie94

Seawolf Park on Thanksgiving Eve

Post by Aggie94 »

I took a scouting/fishing trip to Galveston to search for some bank/wade fishing areas. One of my oldest buddies from way back in high school and college has a young son who is interested in saltwater fishing so we want to plan a trip out. I am by no means an expert, but my friend doesn't know anything at all so I thought I could try to help him learn the basics. I'll probably give him a Hook-n-Line map and a copy of Ray's book for Christmas to help him get started :) .

I brought my big dog, Minnie, with me as company and to watch my stuff. Minnie and I checked out the South Jetty flats, The Lagoon, and my old crabbing area on Boddecker Drive (wow- that place has changed in the last ten years!). No action there, but I didn't stay long because it is hard to fish and mind a 100 pound English mastiff mix at the same time. She is a great car rider, but not much of a salty dog.

Anyway, my friend had mentioned Seawolf Park so I decided to check it out lastly as it was open until midnight. I've heard a lot of mixed things about it as far as fishing is concerned. We got there sometime after 6pm. Minnie preferred to sleep in the Jeep and it was cool enough so I let her sleep while I fished. I was able to park in the row right by the concrete railing and started out casting there- pretty convenient. It was congested, but not too badly, and the people I was next to were friendly enough. (I can see how it would be too crowded to fish during peak times). I got a hit on my first cast and almost every one after that.