Broken hooks grrr bolivar reds to blame 09/04

flykool25

Broken hooks grrr bolivar reds to blame 09/04

Post by flykool25 »

Launched around 08:15 am in bolivar and peddled to my secret hotspot. Tide was really high. Saw some bait being busted along the shoreline and casted with gulp on a Jighead . Turned out to be croakers . Finally anchored at my spot . I also had dead shrimp with me . Since I had good luck last week with shrimp I used it again with a popping cork . Caught two small croakers. Then I end up with a nice red that I fought for about 3 minutes . All of a sudden the line is loose and I reel my line only to find a broken hook. This is my first time I have had a red break my hook. Catch a few more croakers and then end up with a 21 inch red. Feeling good I cast out two lines with shrimp on it. Catch a croaker that decides to run into my other line . Now I have a tangled mess of two braided lines. Finally after trying to untangle the mess I just cut the lines and retie everything . 1/2 hr later I am fishing again . Back to fishing with one line out . I get another solid bite and I fight this redfish for about five minutes. Got it to about a foot away from the kayak and the redfish decides to take off again. All of a sudden my line is loose again. I reel the line in only to find out a second broken hook. This fish was atleast 28 inches or bigger . Now I'm mad at myself because of two broken hooks in one day, and two lost redfish. I keep fishing and finally end up catching a 25 inch redfish that I finally got on my kayak. Later on I managed to catch a small 10 inch red and a 6 inch flounder. Was hoping for a trout but that didn't happen. I think I have finally found me a honey hole. Also learned the hard way to buy some good quality thicker hooks. I was using a lazer size 3 circle hook. overall the reds taught me a lesson about changing the hooks every now and then and to throw away older hooks. Was still a fun day . Was off the water by 1:30pm. All the fis