Lake Houston Saturday 12/27

bigred90gt

Lake Houston Saturday 12/27

Post by bigred90gt »

Hello all. My name is Caymon, and I'm new to the forum and new to kayak fishing. I have been fishing since I could walk (34 now), starting out fishing only freshwater, primarily Lake Houston, Conroe and Livingston. When I was about 12-13, my dad got rid of his bass boat and bought a Kenner bay boat, and we pretty much gave up fresh water fishing. He ended up in some financial trouble, and sold his boat around 2000, and I gave up fishing.

A buddy of mine lives in an RV park on the bay in Baytown (I'm from baytown and still live there), and they have a nice pier, so we started fishing it a few months ago, and I got hooked again.

I have been talking about buying a kayak for several years, and now that I have started fishing again, I took the plunge ad bought a Wilderness Ride 135 from a member here. I haven't taken it out yet, but plan to this weekend. I've been in kayaks, and I've fished all my life, but I've never fished from a kayak. I have decided that it would be best to get on the lake and get up into a cove or into a bayou to get the feel for fishing from the yak. Much less choppy than the bay.

I am planning to take it into lake houston Saturday to try and catch some bass. I've had a hankering for some bass for a while now, and no means to get to them, till now. I am planning on putting in at the marina on 1960 at the bridge and paddling up to the cove just below the mouth of Luce Bayou. If anyone wants to join me, I'd love the company. I will probably get there around 7:30ish. Weather pending, of course. If anyone wants to go, shoot me a PM and we'll set something up.
MethodMachine

Re: Lake Houston Saturday 12/27

Post by MethodMachine »

Make sure to wear your PFD. Also, dress for immersion and bring an extra set of dry clothes in a dry-bag with you.

Luce Bayou was where I put in for my maiden voyage in a kayak about 2 years ago.

Good luck!
richg99
TKF 3000 Club