Humbling River: Rio Chama Trip Report

Earl
TKF 1000 Club
TKF 1000 Club

Humbling River: Rio Chama Trip Report

Post by Earl »

Rio Chama, New Mexico
Aug 10-12

While I am no expert river runner I do have a fair amount of river miles and different rivers under my belt and many more to come. This trip was a bit of a humbling experience for me. I very seldom get my wife out on these trips but this one she said she was going to go when I got the permit back in March. Being a class III river and having been in a flash flood on this river last year I did not want her paddling a kayak. So I purchased a 16’ SOAR inflatable canoe. These are tough boats and look just like an inflatable raft except they are narrower like a canoe. The idea here was two fold, keep her out of a kayak and out of the water and also to be able to pack enough gear to make it a comfortable trip for her. When it is just myself and my boys it is usually the pack it like you were going to wear it on your back theme but not this trip.

Along on this trip were 5 members of the Dallas Downriver Club (DDRC) and one grandchild and the 5 members of my family my three boys Alec, Jacob, Zachary and my wife. My boys are ages 17, and 13 yr old twins. They all are experienced paddlers and have made many trips in all kinds of water up to class V with me. The DDRC members included George Lackey and his 11 yr old grandson Lance, Bryan Jackson, Sam Sloan, Anita Goss, and Jim Coward all experienced river paddlers.