shapening tools

makenmend

shapening tools

Post by makenmend »

having read up on scary sharp, I thought I would start up (test) on my newly aquired wood chisels and low angle block plane.is a honing guide a neccesary item or is hand/eye ok ? can't find such beastie on the island.
barditch
TKF 2000 club
TKF 2000 club

Re: shapening tools

Post by barditch »

:? I have no experience w/the scary sharp procedure, but...I would have to believe that the honing guides would be critical! I use home-made guides on my rig, and I'd be hard pressed to duplicate it freehanded. JMHO!
Pogo
TKF 3000 Club
TKF 3000 Club

Post by Pogo »

I'd have to say using a guide or sharpening jig is at least very wise. If you can't get a sharpening guide by mail order, then make one; there's nothing complicated or mysterious about 'em. The store-bought ones just work very well and don't cost a lot, less than $15.

http://www.rockler.com/ecom7/findprod.cfm?&sku=2417" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
barditch
TKF 2000 club
TKF 2000 club

Post by barditch »

Pogo wrote:I'd have to say using a guide or sharpening jig is at least very wise. If you can't get a sharpening guide by mail order, then make one; there's nothing complicated or mysterious about 'em. The store-bought ones just work very well and don't cost a lot, less than $15.

http://www.rockler.com/ecom7/findprod.cfm?&sku=2417" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
8) Believe Pogo on the tools...the guy's got a library of sources on good stuff that would make many a good tool store blush! I just scooped that one he posted! :D
gerald
TKF 4000 Club
TKF 4000 Club

Post by gerald »