When to go BTB

MTStringerS

When to go BTB

Post by MTStringerS »

I am new to heading offshore and I am working at understanding the apps and websites to figure out when is a good time to go. I have been looking at windfinder.com a lot and tides4fishing.com. I know 20mph and 4ft wave height are not good from the windfinder app but what is the general cut off for go or no go.

One day I am looking at has wind speed at 10mph at 7am, 10am and 1pm. The wave height goes from 2.3 to 2.0 over that same time and the wave period is 4 to 5s. Is that still too rough?

I see these videos online of glass like water with what looks like a max breeze of 2 to 3mph but in 2 months of watching windfinder I have never seen these conditions.

Thanks for the help...
kickingback
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club

Re: When to go BTB

Post by kickingback »

The best plan is to watch the internet sites that can give you all the information you will need for the area. Here are the sites I use specifically for offshore planning.

First is the Bob Hall Pier report. You can pay the premium membership to see 16 days in the future. Free you only see a few days. It is worth the price IMHO. I look for 1-2 foot surf breakers and no winds over 15 mph. Like this coming Sun the breakers are 1 foot and low winds with an outgoing tide through the morning.
https://magicseaweed.com/Bob-Hall-Pier-Surf-Report/361/

Second is Weather Underground for Corpus or the area you want to see. Go to "10 Day" view and see the wind and weather for the time you are looking from the Bob Hall site.
https://www.wunderground.com/forecast/u ... alwx_10day

And last, check the tides to see when they will be moving so you are aware for safety and ease of accessing.
https://tides4fishing.com/us/texas/bob- ... us-christi

Forgot this one. You can see the waves breaking at the pier to give you a view of the conditions before you go or plan.
https://www.webcams.travel/webcam/fullscreen/1486829163