What Conditions are safe?

Cmac32

What Conditions are safe?

Post by Cmac32 »

I'm new to the saltwater kayaking scene and I was wondering what app you use to check conditions and at what point the conditions become unsafe or unenjoyable. I have just loaded the magicseaweed app and it gives surf, swell and wind. Thanks in advance for your help

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
LOOKN4REDS
TKF 1000 Club
TKF 1000 Club

Re: What Conditions are safe?

Post by LOOKN4REDS »

MSW is as good as any. I wouldn't bet on a forecast more than 24 hours out. Safe and comfortable conditions...I assume you mean for a beach launch in the surf. Watch the forecast to determine if conditions are building or falling prior to your launch. 2 - 3's surf are doable but YOU WILL NOT LIKE IT. The swells will have you rocking and rolling. 1's with single digit winds should provide a safe and enjoyable trip. Exceptions: passes, jetties and ship channels. If you are new to BTB and these conditions, you go with somebody with experience and pay attention! The Houston Ship Channel can be gorgeous in the spring and your WORST nightmare.
Cmac32

Post by Cmac32 »

LOOKN4REDS wrote:MSW is as good as any. I wouldn't bet on a forecast more than 24 hours out. Safe and comfortable conditions...I assume you mean for a beach launch in the surf. Watch the forecast to determine if conditions are building or falling prior to your launch. 2 - 3's surf are doable but YOU WILL NOT LIKE IT. The swells will have you rocking and rolling. 1's with single digit winds should provide a safe and enjoyable trip. Exceptions: passes, jetties and ship channels. If you are new to BTB and these conditions, you go with somebody with experience and pay attention! The Houston Ship Channel can be gorgeous in the spring and your WORST nightmare.
Thank you!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
fishinmachine

Post by fishinmachine »