Kingfish rigs

Mulligan

Kingfish rigs

Post by Mulligan »

Just getting the rigs ready for them Kings! I've seen several YT vids on how to tie. When I tried them out last week, two of the rigs snapped right at the swivel, just at the bottom of the tight twist while fighting a fish. The other rig that held, I used a larger wrap/loop, then started the tight wrap. I'm hoping this adjustment holds up better. Lost couple of big fish last weekend.

One being what appeared to be a giant cobia.

Question: Are Cobias known to jump out of the water and spin like hell when fighting it? This one I hooked up appeared to be around 4 ft or so. It went airborne and spun like crazy. After about the 3rd acrobatic move, the line snapped off.
Attachments
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
Heatstroke

Re: Kingfish rigs

Post by Heatstroke »

I'm no expert but it looks like you just have one wire wrapping the oth
Prof. Salt
TKF 4000 Club
TKF 4000 Club

Post by Prof. Salt »

Most cobia stay submerged during the fight, but once in a while you hook one that went to the Fred Astaire school of dance. I caught cobes for years and never had one jump until last year. Now I've had five put on aerial shows. I do like the acrobatic ones!
Mulligan

Post by Mulligan »

Heatstroke wrote:I'm no expert but it looks like you just have one wire wrapping the oth
The stinger is a separate piece. The ones that broke off were in one piece, both J hook and treble. I didn't like that the hooks didn't move and adjustable. This two piece appears to work better.
Mulligan

Post by Mulligan »

Prof. Salt wrote:Most cobia stay submerged during the fight, but once in a while you hook one that went to the Fred Astaire school of dance. I caught cobes for years and never had one jump until last year. Now I've had five put on aerial shows. I do like the acrobatic ones!