Kayak Cart

RedsProwler

Kayak Cart

Post by RedsProwler »

Here is my simple design for a kayak cart. My first attempt kept sliding off, so I added the tubes through the scupper. Works much better now.

I've attached some instructions for what was built and the cost.
Attachments
Kayak Cart assemble instructions.doc
(521.5 KiB) Downloaded 630 times
under_kayak.jpg
Last edited by RedsProwler on Sat Nov 11, 2006 6:40 pm, edited 4 times in total.
yakkety yak

Post by yakkety yak »

Good instructions, plans and photos. Thanks! :D
planohog

Post by planohog »

WOW, Great job on the instructions and design of cart.

--tmoore
Gig'em77

Post by Gig'em77 »

Superb job of how to make this cart. Thanks!! It's been very helpful.
I've never used a cart before. Would like to have one, though. I will probably opt for adding more cotter pins so I can disassemble it and fit it into the storage bin.

Can you explain something to me, please? What's the best procedure for loading your Prowler 13 onto the cart without putting too much weight onto the wheel axle? I'm trying to visualize how to load, and thought I'd probably have to turn my Drifter on its side, attach the cart, then set the cart and yak upright, wheels first, onto the ground. But I'm thinking doing this would put too much weight on the first wheel to hit the ground.

Thanks for sharing.
Gig'em
RedsProwler

Post by RedsProwler »

Gig'em77 wrote:Superb job of how to make this cart. Thanks!! It's been very helpful.
I've never used a cart before. Would like to have one, though. I will probably opt for adding more cotter pins so I can disassemble it and fit it into the storage bin.

I think it would be simple enough to not glue the support. Drill a 1/4" or so hole and insert a couple of pins. And dont glue the scupper tubes as well. Just push them in place.