RVing and Kayaking--will side ladder rack work?

txbidcaller

RVing and Kayaking--will side ladder rack work?

Post by txbidcaller »

Ok, I need some help here. I am new to RVing and fairly new to kayaking. I have a 30ft bumper pull trailer and a Stealth 14 yak. I'm thinking I could use a side ladder rack on the truck, found one with a 36in spread and the yak is 33in, put one upright in the middle hole and the other in the front, that should support the yak pretty much in the middle, if not, I can beef that section up so that it does. Anyone have a similar rigging or better option? Open for any suggestions or comments...
ezygo

Re: RVing and Kayaking--will side ladder rack work?

Post by ezygo »

I'm having a hard time vizualizing what you are trying to explain. What type of side ladder rack are you referring to?

I'm in a similar situation with RV and kayaks. I have contractors rack on the truck but the kayaks would have to be slid forward so far forward on the rack to clear the front of the trailer, I'm not sure how well it would work at freeway speeds. What I've done for now until I come up with a solution is to store the RV at Matagorda and have the kayaks at home in Spring.
generalnotes

Post by generalnotes »

Maybe I'm just not thinking it through, but It seems to me that with a bumper pull camper/trailer and any kind of rooftop kayak rack you shouldn't have a problem with clearance. I pull mine with boats on top every time we go camping. I don't have a picture with the camper hooked up, but I have this one with a small trailer. Now, granted, my truck is pretty long, so the boats are centered better, but I think even with a small truck it should work.
sept 2011 002.jpg
sept 2011 001.jpg
hipshot
TKF 2000 club
TKF 2000 club
Location: New Caney ............... OK Trident 13, Dagger Cayman, OK Torque, Soloskiff

Post by hipshot »