saltwater newbie

pmed8

saltwater newbie

Post by pmed8 »

hello everyone. i am new to kayak fishing along the coast. thought i might be able to get the overall opinion of what would be the best way to start? artificials? live bait? which ones work better? i would appreciate any info along these lines. also, i am new to this site and have to say that i have learned a great deal from all the postings already. everyone has been great and the info even better. hope to see some of you out on the water in the near future. stay safe.
Hookem
TKF 2000 club
TKF 2000 club

Post by Hookem »

I cant tell you whats best for you but I can tell you what I did.

I started kayak fishing using only live bait...mostly shrimp...and finger mullet after about a month of that I started to use arties, but I alwayz took fresh dead bait out with me so I could keep myself interested. then after about a month of using both I stopped buying bait all together and used only arties, It took me a while to start catching fish so dont be discuraged if you dont bang em up the first time you devote yourself to arties.

the best tip I could give is to read...read the fishing reports....read saltwater fishing mags. get a feel of what it working!!! I hoped I helped!!!
ryderredfish

Post by ryderredfish »

hookem wrote:I cant tell you whats best for you but I can tell you what I did.

I started kayak fishing using only live bait...mostly shrimp...and finger mullet after about a month of that I started to use arties, but I alwayz took fresh dead bait out with me so I could keep myself interested. then after about a month of using both I stopped buying bait all together and used only arties, It took me a while to start catching fish so dont be discuraged if you dont bang em up the first time you devote yourself to arties.

the best tip I could give is to read...read the fishing reports....read saltwater fishing mags. get a feel of what it working!!! I hoped I helped!!!