Short Rod Joy

texnomad
TKF 3000 Club
TKF 3000 Club

Short Rod Joy

Post by texnomad »

Due to an unfortunate tailgate accident I have been using a 5'-6" rod while fishing in the yak for a couple of months. It has turned out to be wonderful for the marshes around Rockport, Tx. The action is, of course, not the finest in the world but the shorter length sure seems to be working out for a yak rod. I am giving serious consideration to having my next rod a 5'-6" rod of the proper action. Is anyone else using shorter rods for their yak fishing?
Oso

Re: Short Rod Joy

Post by Oso »

Nothing that short. I have 7'ers and one 6'6" rod that is my favorite. My next purchase will likely be 6' rod.
Drifting Yak
TKF 1000 Club
TKF 1000 Club

Post by Drifting Yak »

I think I have a few "shortened" or "custom by crunch" rods out in the garage so will give them a whirl! :shock:
texnomad
TKF 3000 Club
TKF 3000 Club

Post by texnomad »

" CUSTOM BY CRUNCH" now that is a great visualization for sure.
robjm09

Post by robjm09 »

One of my favorite setups is a Pflueger Presidente Ultra lite. It is 5' and one piece. I take that setup everywhere with me. It is so versatile, and I use it constantly. Rods pulled in a 5 lb bass. I have it spooled with 8lb braid and I have caught so many fish. Definitely my favorite spinning combo. Looking at trying to find a quality baitcaster that is shorter than 6'6". If anyone has recommendations please let me know.
Bradleto

Post by Bradleto »

Sure, a short rod has more leverage over a fish, not less. The rod's lifting point is nearer the fulcrum . . . your hand. A five pound fish on the right short rod with enough reel is no issue.