Newbie to Kayak-fishing - looking for guidance

kayakraider

Newbie to Kayak-fishing - looking for guidance

Post by kayakraider »

Hello All,

I am a newbie to Kayak fishing. I enjoy kayaking and have been fishing the jetties for a year or so, but without much luck. I figured Kayak fishing should be fun, so that even if I don't catch anything , I would get to kayak and be away from the crowds. I do not own a kayak yet and I would like to try out kayak-fishing before I invest in a yak. I plan to fish the bay anywhere between Freeport and Galveston, I do not know any better as of yet. Could you guys chime in on the below questions and help me out please?

1. What is a good way to try out Kayak-fishing? Should I rent a fishing-kayak (around $70 per day) and just go out on the water and start casting? Or start by taking a guided kayak fishing trip (anywhere from $300 to $450)?
2. I am thinking Christmas bay is a good place to start. Do you guys have any other better suggestions?
3. Would any of you be willing to let me tag along in your next fishing trip? I will bring everything.

Thanks,
KayakRaider
Rockclimber

Re: Newbie to Kayak-fishing - looking for guidance

Post by Rockclimber »

Hello Kayakraider and welcome aboard. If you have never done this before- yes go with someone else who has and maybe has a spare boat. Renting a boat is always a possibility but I would suggest going with someone else your first couple of times, it will become a lot simpler to have someone show you a few shortcuts and ideas.
My other suggestion is to go with a guide and in your area Rick Spillman is one of best, located in the Freeport area. Rick can supply the kayak and gear if needed and is an excellent kayak instructor, very good guide and great guy. For my first trip with him I split the cost with another TKF'er that I found here on the board. I just conversed with him to make sure we had like abilities and goals for the day and it turned out great.