What size/brand paddle for 200 at FTU?

eweberdc
TKF 1000 Club
TKF 1000 Club

What size/brand paddle for 200 at FTU?

Post by eweberdc »

I know there is a huge paddle selection out there, and you should really try to test before you buy, but I've still got a question or two.

At 6'3" should I be using a 230 or 240 cm paddle?

If it matters, I'm on a Tarpon 140 w/ rudder. I am currently using a 220 sea sense-inexpensive starter paddle, as per Mrs. B's advice-and I can get my yak moving, but it seems like it is more work than it ought to be. I would like this to be my back-up. I've got about $200 credit at FTU, and would like to use it for a good paddle that will last me a long time.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Erik
Mythman
TKF 10,000 Club
TKF 10,000 Club
Location: Cypress.......watching the weather to go BTB fishing!

Post by Mythman »

First off, I am no paddle expert, but by consulting several paddle sites and their sizing chart, I think at 6'3' with a 28" wide yak, either the 230 or 240 will work for you.

Probably, you just need to find a paddle you are comfortable with. Similar to watches, there are ranges in quality and price from timex to Rolex......they all however tell time........same with paddles, they all pull you forward......some better then others and some seem priced to satisfy ego trips. Unfortunately, trying different paddles is even more difficult than then trying yaks.

I would suggest make a tournament weigh-in (like S&S this weekend) and see if you can paddle your yak with a variety of other's paddles.

I have a 240 paddle made by a major paddle mfg. and if ever around me and the water, you are welcome to try my paddle.
Doug Poudre
TKF 2000 club
TKF 2000 club

Post by Doug Poudre »

I would say come up with another fifty and get one of the AT carbon/kevlar fish sticks. It's a bent shaft and might take some getting used to, but they are nice. Light weight and strong.
Night Wing
TKF 10,000 Club
TKF 10,000 Club