Scupper Pro TW

ash78626

Scupper Pro TW

Post by ash78626 »

I am thinking about buying a used SPTW. I am new to the kayak world. I have some experience with canoes and have had an OT Rush for a couple of months. I have gotten interested in salt water fishing and want a kayak that will be handle distance a little better. I can see myself in the flats, both wading and casting from the boat. I also want to have at least one experience out in the Gulf.

Since I live near Austin, the boat will be used a lot for freshwater fishing in our local lakes.

I haven't acually tried the SPTW yet and certainly will before I commit, but would be very interested in your opinions about the appropriateness of the boat for what I want to do with it. To be honest, I really have no idea what I will be doing in salt water, but I don't want to buy something that will limit my fishing from the start.
Hookem
TKF 2000 club
TKF 2000 club

Post by Hookem »

As far as i have heard, it is a great kayak! and lots of ppl were upset when OK stoped making it.!!
greyloon
TKF 9000 Club
TKF 9000 Club

Post by greyloon »

As Hookem says, OK no longer builds the scupperpro, so it will have to be a used one if you can find it. PM Nightwing, he has, or had a scupperpro.
JimD
TKF 3000 Club
TKF 3000 Club

They are great kayaks if you

Post by JimD »

They are great kayaks if you can get your butt in the seat.
People used to say you needed to be under 6ft and 200 pounds to fit.

The seat is quite deep.

Great kayak. Even better if it has a rudder.
Last edited by JimD on Sun Oct 22, 2006 12:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
fowlwaters

Post by fowlwaters »

Look at the new Ride for the flats and with the changes made it paddles like a Tarpon. Check with five-0 he has had a few Scupprers and is demoing the new Ride this weekend and makes long paddles some times 3 miles or more to get to the fish.
greyloon
TKF 9000 Club
TKF 9000 Club

Post by greyloon »