Pedal vs Paddle

Jbuggs1992

Pedal vs Paddle

Post by Jbuggs1992 »

Im sure this has been asked but I couldn't find a post on it. I'm new to Kayaking and I am trying to decide whether it would be better to purchase a paddle kayak or a pedal drive kayak. As for paddle kayaks I like the Frontier 12 and pedal Kayak I like the Native Kayaks. All assistance is appreciated
SWFinatic

Re: Pedal vs Paddle

Post by SWFinatic »

Yep lots of discussion on this topic and you'll get opinions for both. In most cases you will have to paddle your kayak at some point even with a pedal drive. Where and how you fish will depend on how much you have to paddle. I've had both and for me the peddle drive makes kayak fishing much more enjoyable. I have a back with issues and a shoulder that bothers me some and paddling impacts both.

If you fish the salt water marsh or back lakes a lot then you'll need a kayak that paddles well (something easier to paddle than the Frontier 12) since you can't peddle is shallow water. If you mostly fish lakes for bass a peddle drive like the Native is hard to beat.
Ron Mc
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club

Post by Ron Mc »

All pedal kayaks are not created equal. Consider that you're almost prone to begin with, and then lift your feet to pedal a bicycle. Hobie drive (and some others have copied it) seems to be the only pedal system that makes sense.
Without question, they're very efficient and can cover good distance.
If you're going pedal, don't buy cheap - if you're going paddle, don't buy too wide, to keep paddling effort low.
impulse

Post by impulse »

I'm not going to offer any advice on the pedal vs paddle because it's so subjective. You won't know which is best for you until you've tried them under the fishing conditions you'll be encountering.