Do I need a bed extender?

rippyro

Do I need a bed extender?

Post by rippyro »

I just bought a 13' kayak recently and have taken it out twice already for some fishing. I have been going back and forth on getting a bed extender but I'm not going to spend the money if it's not necessary. I've been loading it straight in my truck bed with the tailgate down (5.8' bed) and strapping it through the front handle and through the side handles. It's very solid once secured and it's in past the balance point (barely) so it doesn't want to fall out when not strapped down. If that makes any sense. I have drove it to and from the lake (30 min drive) without any issues but would hate to do damage in the long run because it doesn't have more support. Looking for some experience based advice for a complete newbie.
Thanks in advance. ImageImage

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
rippyro

Re: Do I need a bed extender?

Post by rippyro »

The handles are pretty well centered on the balance point, so if you can tell from the pictures it's about a foot inside the end of the tailgate.

JW FunGuy

Post by JW FunGuy »

If it were me, and since you can get one for about $65-70 at Harbor Freight last I looked, a bed extender would be cheap insurance. Plus it might make loading and unloading easier.
And if you don’t you will need a flag. :D
Ron Mc
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club

Post by Ron Mc »

yes, if you're more than 4' behind the tail-lights, you need a bed extender just so you can put lights on it.

rippyro

Post by rippyro »

I kinda had a feeling about that. My wife is loving all of the "extra stuff" to buy after getting the kayak. Haha

Neumie
Site Admin

Post by Neumie »

I would get the bed extender because they are inexpensive and will help support the weight.