New guy looking for other like minded people

Captain

New guy looking for other like minded people

Post by Captain »

Hello everyone,
I thought I would say hi. I am new to Kayak fishing, but not new to kayaks or fishing. I am trying to save up for my first fishing yak while debating what I want. I am looking at Bass pro shops Ascend 10T sit on yak, if I buy new. If I find something used at a good price I'll jump on it. I just want to get a good sit on top intro yak. I am not buying a Hobie right out of the box. I am 44 and don't enjoy sitting on hard plastic so trying to find one with a raised seat. Any way just wanted to say to everyone and hope to see you on the water soon.
Cap.
Z~MAN
TKF 10,000 Club
TKF 10,000 Club
Location: RGV,Brownsville,Texas,Kayak: hobie revo-Let's Go Fishin..Coco.!

Re: New guy looking for other like minded people

Post by Z~MAN »

You missed ack demo days great opportunity to see and try the latest models
Remember that the seat is not everything's you can get an older but goodie yak and investment on a good seat and u will be set.

Good luck on finding her....the yak of your dreams

Let's go fishin...coco
Z-man
Jbob

Post by Jbob »

I recommend going used. You'll likely get a lot more kayak for your money. If you get a good deal on it and turns out you don't like it, you'll be able to sell it with little to no loss. I second demo days. FTU may have a few more before the year is out.
Ron Mc
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club

Post by Ron Mc »

Don't start with the kayak of your dreams until you have enough paddling experience to dream them.
Newer hulls are big and heavy for standing stability - so heavy many don't report weight in their specs any more.