Kayak Question

LoneStar21

Kayak Question

Post by LoneStar21 »

Hi all! I have always fished jetties and dikes near Houston, but now have an itch to take it out on the water. Since I don't have the money or space to get a boat or skiff, I thought a fishing kayak would be a great option. I have gone to a local shop that tried to sell me a $2000+ kayak as a beginner with the sales pitch of" buy this and never worry about upgrading." I personally thought it was overkill since as a beginner I wasn't comfortable speeding that kind of money. I joined this forum seeking help from this kayaking community about your thoughts about the kayaks at Academy or any other big box stores and the size I have been considering. I have been eyeing the 12' Pescador, but a buddy of mine says to get a 13'. Is that extra foot really worth the additional $200-$300? I do not intend to take the kayak off shore or do anything hardcore with it. I just want to be able to get out on the water with friends and other kayakers to catch bigger fish instead of the usual small croakers and catfish.
Salaqua

Re: Kayak Question

Post by Salaqua »

Hello. From what I have read, most recommend, I think rightly so, a starter kayak of some sort. The one you mentioned is also another common kayak recommended to this function. You could probably even find a better deal on Craiglist, here, or TKF Facebook page. If you end up enjoying this sport, then you can always upgrade. I would recommend an entry level fishing kayak over one that is not meant for fishing gear that is needed to fish. Besides, recommending a 2K-3K kayak is putting you in the peddle drive systems. There are many kayaks that are really nice in the 1000-1800.
JRB-USMC

Post by JRB-USMC »