Does 2 ft. Make a lot of difference?

TigerLandSportsman

Does 2 ft. Make a lot of difference?

Post by TigerLandSportsman »

I'm still new to kayak fishing, but I know I'm hooked.

I currently have pescador perception 10.

I planned on waiting till this spring to see if I could get a deal on a 12', because the 10' seems small for my 6'5" body.

I found a deal on a Feel Free Moken 14, but I worry it might be to long.

I like to go down Village Creek, since it is close to my house, but I am definitely interested in a BTB trip. I feel like most of my trips will be big and open water, but I don't want to sacrifice maneuverability.

Any insight?
krfish

Re: Does 2 ft. Make a lot of difference?

Post by krfish »

Two feet does make a big difference in my opinion. More speed and better tracking are advantages. Mine is 13' and that's as big as I'd want to go, but I'm a small guy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TG05

Post by TG05 »

Longer should be faster and track better. At 6'5", the main consideration might be your weight. Factor in your weight plus weight of the seat, all gear, cooler, etc., and don't exceed 70% of the stated weight capacity of the kayak.
Tallgrass07

Post by Tallgrass07 »

Your weight might be the major factor since you're so tall. Total up your weight and the weight of the seat and all gear and don't go over 70% of the stated weight capacity for the kayak.
Mythman
TKF 10,000 Club
TKF 10,000 Club
Location: Cypress.......watching the weather to go BTB fishing!

Post by Mythman »

Two extra feet make a big difference in paddling in a straight line, in speed and usually weight capacity. The longer a kayak the faster it is and the easier it is to paddle without the bow wagging from side to side.

The shorter a kayak is the more maneuverable it is and usually the lighter it is. Shorter kayaks do better in the surf.....but, how much time do you spend in the surf? Even paddling a lot BTB you only spend about 1/90th of your time in the surf zone.