Thinking about fly fishing

Salaqua

Thinking about fly fishing

Post by Salaqua »

Good morning Fly anglers. I kayak fish in the POC area. I have a couple of questions.

I have zero experience in fly fishing. I would like to get started and try it out.

I plan on using my kayak, how difficult or easy is it to use the kayak and fly fish? (I have an ATAK 140 so I stand, pole, etc. most of the time I am searching for reds.)

Also, being a new guy, I am wandering what would be a good mid level rod and reel. I plan on going to Roy's in the near future to try a number of the out but need some advice on a beginning point. I am not adverse to buying quality gear if it is worth the value but I would like to keep the rod to under $600. I would not say I am in a rush to get everything right now.

I appreciate any help. Thanks.
Kayak buddy

Re: Thinking about fly fishing

Post by Kayak buddy »

I have an 8 wt orvis helios its a high end rod, but if you could put me on some fish ill show you how to fly cast, i tie flies as well. The ATAK should be fine. Some people bring large beach towells to lay over the kayak foot pegs to preven hang ups.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
StrykerDM

Post by StrykerDM »

Look at TFO rods. Good quality and warranty. Get a good fly line. I like scientific anglers grand slam.

For reels, maybe you can find a sage 3000 series still on sale. They were selling the old models as they released a newer version. Get one that will work for an 8wt rod.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
karstopo
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club

Post by karstopo »

I don't think it's too difficult to stalk reds in a kayak. I'm a big fan of standing in the kayak while stalking. I just think it Makes spotting fish exponentially easier than sitting in a low position. The sooner you See them, the more options you tend to have getting into position for the cast.