basics of fly fishing Texas bays

Thunder1

basics of fly fishing Texas bays

Post by Thunder1 »

Hey all,

I've been fishing the Texas coast by kayak for several years now. However, I have yet to do so while casting a fly. I'm still having a hard time visualizing how this usually happens. Do you guys wade, cast from the kayak, etc? Also, is fly fishing the coast for reds primarily sight casting? If so, how do you get a good vantage point without the elevation a boat provides? Thanks for any advice you may have.
GoDoe
TKF 1000 Club
TKF 1000 Club

Re: basics of fly fishing Texas bays

Post by GoDoe »

Sight fishing with the fly rod is all I do and I do that between 50-60 days a year.

Finding fish is the hard part, catching them is generally easier.

My Musts:
Stand in kayak/paddle board or in my case Solo Skiff now.
Once I have seen enough fish to go after I exit the craft and wade to them.

Now all you need is the right water level and clarity, the right wind, the sun to shine, the fish to be in the right place at the right time as you wade by, to be ready to cast to a sighted fish in 1 second or less without making too much noise or movement, to be able to lay the fly silently in the path of your chosen target and then just hope like hell that the fish will eat. If any of these things are not perfect then it screws up the whole pie.

It is no "proper" way to catch fish but it is dang fun when it happens. Give it a shot.
karstopo
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club

Post by karstopo »

Anything fly fishing you will get some variety in the responses. I think each person works out ways to fish that works for them and their preferred areas.