Secret hog potion (bait)

jdavid1139

Secret hog potion (bait)

Post by jdavid1139 »

Hey everyone. I have some land out near fentress TX, and have had to land some hogs for farmer's sake. :) I am new to hogging in a trap, and I looked online for a few tips, and put some corn in a water bath, let it spoil, then put some kool aid in. Man, I had 3 hogs in the trap, and 2 outside trying to get in! Anyone else have some unique hog bait?
Barnacle Bill
TKF 10,000 Club
TKF 10,000 Club

Re: Secret hog potion (bait)

Post by Barnacle Bill »

jdavid1139 wrote:Hey everyone. I have some land out near fentress TX, and have had to land some hogs for farmer's sake. :) I am new to hogging in a trap, and I looked online for a few tips, and put some corn in a water bath, let it spoil, then put some kool aid in. Man, I had 3 hogs in the trap, and 2 outside trying to get in! Anyone else have some unique hog bait?

Strawberry jam and marshmallows.
LOOKN4REDS
TKF 1000 Club
TKF 1000 Club

Post by LOOKN4REDS »

Left over grease from the kitchen mess. Scent last a long time in and around the traps.
Fishinintx

Post by Fishinintx »

I read that actually using diesel in the ground and.let it soak in below the trap. The hogs love the smell of it and tear up the ground. I haven't confirmed this yet so use with caution in case of a spoof.
jdavid1139

Post by jdavid1139 »

Left over Bacon Grease! Fantastic idea! Thanks.
jdavid1139

Post by jdavid1139 »

Also, for all you hog cookers, I saw an old (wiser) man put the hog in water, drain it over 3 days each once a day to drain as much blood as possible, and then smoke it for 8 hours. Best pork I've ever had, and I have only said that once. ;-). It tasted like steak. Crazy, and the rub was called Bullsh*t. haha.
on a mission
TKF 1000 Club
TKF 1000 Club

Post by on a mission »