Duck report

Barnacle Bill
TKF 10,000 Club
TKF 10,000 Club

Duck report

Post by Barnacle Bill »

Well, I've been doing a lot of waterfowl hunting. This is my first year of really getting into it. I've been extremely fortunate in that I moved to a 10,000 acre ranch and my wife, daughter and I are the only ones that live on it. There are plenty of ponds to hunt on. There is also the river that is about 40 yards from my back door. Typically I'm deer hunting but I've really enjoyed duck hunting and besides, we cull so many deer that it isn't really "hunting". I do go stalk deer with a bow on the state hunting land that borders the ranch though.

Anyway, back to the duck hunting.

This is my first year of really getting into it. I haven't used decoys and the only call I had was one of those 6 in 1 calls. Now I have a 6 in 1, a pintail call and a mallard call.... Yesterday I bought 8 decoys. It's been a wonderful and fun learning experience and if it wasn't for DU's website with the "how-to", I'd still be looking to bag my first duck.

On my way to hunt with a buddy on my first outing, he asked me, "Do you like liver?".. I said, "No, neither me nor my wife or daughter like liver."... He said, "Then you won't like duck." Well, I've eaten duck in restaurants that didn't taste like liver.

Anyway, I got some cooking advice on FB from folks like Capt Jack. None of my duck tastes like liver. I soak it either in saltwater or buttermilk the night before I cook it.

Below is a photo of some duck that I cooked. I like to cook it medium rare and make duck fajitas. That has been my favorite so far. I also make duck poppers which is duck, jalapeno and bacon which I grill. I like to sometimes make the poppers, dip them in buttermilk, dip them in seasoned flour, dip them again in buttermilk and then again in the seasoned flour and deep fry them. I’ve learned that you need to use a healthy chunk of duck or the frying will overcook it.