Duck Hunting

Nathan

Duck Hunting

Post by Nathan »

I am interested in doing a cast and blast/and/or duck hunting this season out of my kayak. I was thinking to do this in Christmas/Brazoria wildlife refuge. I am a novice-(brand new) duck hunter though. I don't even own a shotgun yet though I hope to get one soon. Anyway Academy near me has the Remington 870 Express on sale for 219.00. Is this a good gun? Do you need the 3.5" shells or is 3" enough? They offer the 3.5" for 279.00. Is it worth it to spring for the 3.5 in case I ever need it. When would you need the 3.5" shells? Thanks for the help. Nathan
Nathan

Capt Jack

Post by Nathan »

Capt Jack, -When you launch from the condos in Christmas Bay do you head straight across to the north shore or do you head into drum bay and hit the Brazoria wildlife refuge? Thanks Nathan
Fishing Elvis
TKF 1000 Club
TKF 1000 Club

Post by Fishing Elvis »

The Remington 870's are good guns for the price although I don't think they are made as well anymore. I would recomend a Benneli Nova. I bought one last year and wouldn't trade it for any other pump on the market. They are a little more expensive than the 870(but not much), but I think they are worth it. They are very easy to dissasemble to clean and and are great quality. It shoots 3 1/2 in shells. The 3 1/2's aren't really necessary for ducks, but I think it can be a good thing to have or at least I think so (definatly not a must). Most people use them for geese. If you do decide on the 870 I would recomend getting the express mag. I think they are made a little better than the regular 870. As far as places to go around X-mas I can't really help you there. I've never hunted that area, but CaptJack will give you more information that you could imagine. Hope this helps.
Yak-a-lou

Post by Yak-a-lou »