New User, New (to me) kayak

victorduwon

Post by victorduwon »

Howdy y'all. I've been lurking on the boards for a while and learning as much as I could from everyone's experiences here. I've been fishing for a while but only kayaking for a couple of years. Up until now, I've been dragging my 10ft Lifetime Tamarak to and from the Galveston county marshes. Its been rigged and equipped based largely on info from these boards. Thanks to everyone for all that.
Well, I've finally upgraded. I just (last week) managed to get a gently used Hobie Revo 11. I'm not sure of the year, but it is the older model with the flexible seat. This is my first pedal powered boat, and my first boat with a rudder. I haven't been able to get it wet yet, due to the terrible weather we've been having. But I am hoping to hit the marsh this weekend. The boat is completely stock. The previous owner had not done any rigging, and the only upgrade is the longer turbo fins on the mirage drive.
As I said, I plan on hitting the water this weekend. Prior to that, I'll be transferring my FF (Garmin Striker) from the Tamarak to the Revo, using the Scotty #141 sounder arm. I'll also be trying to build a cart from PVC to avoid dragging my new boat all over the place. The waters I usually fish can be very shallow in places. Sometimes less than a foot. What precautions do I need to take with respect to the rudder, and mirage drive? Is it ok to paddle though shallow areas with the fins flat agains the hull, or should I be pulling the drive up every time? Will the rudder be damaged if it drags in the mud, or should it be folded up unless I have plenty of room to deploy it? I know I cold learn much of this through trial and error, but I'd like to avoid as much of the error portion of that. I don't go offshore, and generally stick to the marshes, around Jones bay, West Bay, and occasionally Moses lake. Any hobie-related gotchas I should be aware of? Thanks in advance.
kickingback
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club