Surfside area fishing

quinton.schmelzenbach

Surfside area fishing

Post by quinton.schmelzenbach »

Hey y'all, I'm new to kayak fishing in this part of the world (currently have a few yaks on loan from a friend)
I live and work on Surfside Island and would love to get out on the water now that it's finally starting to slowly warm back up.
Advise? I grew up fishing in Fiji, and Papua New Guinea as well as a few other places around the world. But my luck here has been spotty at best. Can't quite seem to find the groove.
TIA for any help and pointers.
Ultrastealth
TKF 1000 Club
TKF 1000 Club

Re: Surfside area fishing

Post by Ultrastealth »

The closest thing to a sure thing this time of year is whiting in the surf, and you don't need a yak for it. Use a light line with a sinker at the end and 2-4 small hooks on droppers up from the sinker baited with just a small piece of shrimp. You should catch a bunch and there's nothing better to eat.
Yaklash
TKF 10,000 Club
TKF 10,000 Club

Post by Yaklash »

Not sure how long you'll be in that location, but you'll be there for another month, I'd suggest you learn how to wade the surf and how to fish jetties. If I lived close to that little piece of heaven, every time the surf was green, I'd either be walking the second sand bar or fishing the Surfside Jetty. Christmas and Drum Bays are good for kayak fishing but the surf along Follett's Island can be outstanding when it's "green to the beach."
quinton.schmelzenbach

I should be here for another year and a half. I've done a fair amount of wade fishing over the past two summers, with good success with trout, Spanish Mac, and a few reds. The cuts and on the ICW have given me a few flounder (one was 24 inches). I haven't fished the jetties much, and I look forward to it. What do y'all suggest I use? I fish on the cheap, as a military budget with a family isn't the greatest.
karstopo
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club

Post by karstopo »