Popping Cork Differences

texnomad
TKF 3000 Club
TKF 3000 Club

Popping Cork Differences

Post by texnomad »

I have been using popping corks for 50 years and the newer models we have now really seem to me to work much better than those of yesteryear. Is anybody noticing any significant difference of performance between the many good models available these days? I fish mainly shallower waters less than five feet deep. The three models I have tried all seem to produce very well and I could not tell any performance difference in the catching. What is your experience?
pocfishin

Re: Popping Cork Differences

Post by pocfishin »

I loved to use the original Mansfield Mauler developed by Legendary Fishing Guide Bob Fuston. Sadly, he passed away some years ago. I now use this knock-off brand: Equalizer Cigar float
http://www.haddrellspoint.com/product/p ... cigar.html

Since it's unweighted, it's not a "popping cork" to use with live bait. But with a jig head and soft plastic, it is dynamite!
texnomad
TKF 3000 Club
TKF 3000 Club

Post by texnomad »

Thank you for the input.
kickingback
TKF 5000 Club
TKF 5000 Club

Post by kickingback »

I use the slim cigar popping cork as well like pocfishin. I find it works well in the lights and when you need a softer plop into the water after casting.
I don't think there is much difference in the bigger ones. You want some good clacking and sometimes the clack can be a deep clack or a higher pitched clack and I have found that that makes a difference as well.
texnomad
TKF 3000 Club
TKF 3000 Club

Post by texnomad »

Good info there too. Thank you.
Neumie
Site Admin

Post by Neumie »