Wilderness Radar Comments and Howdy Story

Kwikdraw

Wilderness Radar Comments and Howdy Story

Post by Kwikdraw »

Didn't want to hijack the other thread about Radar pedals so started this as a new topic. In short the peddle system works great.

I have a Radar 135, bought it in May this year. I'm new to Kayaking but not new to fishing. I wish I had discovered this Yak stuff long ago. Would have saved me a ton of $ buying boats and keeping them going, not to mention registration, trailer etc.

My fishin buddy from this board who is also my neighbor got me interested. The first time I tried I got about 10' before falling out. Then I went about 20' more before falling out again. Then on the 3rd try I made it about 100 yds. This was all in a Pescador 12', very light and round bottom. So after finally being able to balance, paddle and breath at the same time without rolling over (even made it out to the ICW and back) I decided I needed to learn how to do that and fish too. (By the way, the Aquatic Center in AP has now been christened the "swimming hole")

Week or so later we went to Roy's demo and tried several different kayaks, those with pedals and those without. The first thing I noticed was the incredible stability in those "fishin" style yaks.